On January 30,1987, the then National Science and Technology Authority (NSTA) was re-organized into the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), paving the way for the creation of DOST Regional Offices throughout the country.

The Cordillera Administrative Region was created by virtue of Executive Order 220, 1987, consisting of the provinces of Abra, Benguet, Mt. Province (formerly from Region I), Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao (formerly from Region II) . This was followed by the establishment of the DOST-CAR regional office through Administrative Order No. 36 and 180, series of 1987.

On July 31, 1990, the Provincial Science and Technology Centers (PSTCs) were created through RA 6959. DOST-CAR has established its PSTCs in Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao, and Mountain Province in December 1991. The last PSTC to be added is the Apayao S&T Center when the former province of Kalinga-Apayao was split into two in February 1995, through RA 7878.